Client Services
1800 800 629

Laura Norman was named as the inaugural PSA-MIMS Intern of the Year during a ceremony at PSA15 in Sydney today.

The PSA-MIMS Intern Pharmacist of the Year Award recognises an intern pharmacist who is showing outstanding performance in their development as a professional pharmacist in community or hospital practice and is a role model amongst early career pharmacists.

MIMS Australia sponsored the award at a state/territory and national level.

National President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, Joe Demarte, said the finalists in the award were judged on their achievement in leadership in pharmacy, commitment to patient care and the safe use of medicines, initiative in pharmacy service delivery, and peer and professional engagement.

“This is a very significant award and great recognition for young pharmacists displaying outstanding ability,” Mr Demarte said.

“PSA is proud of this award which also underscores our commitment to young pharmacists just starting out on their career journey.

“The $4,000 for continuing education and career development helps the winner to further build on their skills and knowledge and give them an edge when entering the workforce.

“Laura displayed outstanding skills and achievements and is a very worthy recipient of this inaugural award.”

The State and Territory finalists were:

• Brendon Wheatley  ACT
• Laura Norman NSW
• Neslihan (Nes) Kartal Victoria
• Alexandra Pitiris Queensland
• Philip Spyrou SA/NT
• Monica Sajogo Western Australia
• Caitlyn Duff  Tasmania

Mr Demarte thanked MIMS for its support of the award.

“MIMS has partnered with the PSA for many years and is the leading supplier of trusted, quality, independent medicine information to Australian healthcare professionals, known for its high level of editorial integrity and independence,” he said.

Siobhan Murphy, Country Manager from MIMS, said: “Being able to support young innovative pharmacists in this way was something the team at MIMS welcomed as we are all working toward the safe use of medicines. I congratulate Laura and wish her every success in her chosen field.”

Applications for the 2015 PSA-MIMS State Intern of the Year awards open this month. For more information and details on how to apply please visit the PSA website at

More details about MIMS can be found at

PSA Media contact:     Peter Waterman Public Affairs Director , 0419 260 827

MIMS Contact:           Dinah Graham, BDM Primary Care, 0434 071 129 

email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

August 1, 2015