September 2016

Active ingredient naming changes

In this release, MIMS Australia will be including the following INNs (International Non-proprietary Names)
as well as Australian Approved Names (AANs) as part of our push to support the Therapeutic Goods
Administration (TGA) active ingredient name changes project.

MIMS will begin referring to these ingredients by their new names, however, users may continue to search
by the old AANs if preferred.

Old name (AAN) New name (INN) Search terms in addition to the new name
Amoxycillin Amoxicillin Amoxycillin
Cephazolin Cefazolin Cephazolin
Chitosan Poliglusam Chitosan
Chlorthalidone Chlortalidone Chlorthalidone
Cholecalciferol Colecalciferol Cholecalciferol
Cholestyramine Colestyramine Cholestyramine
Cyclosporin Ciclosporin Cyclosporin
Glutaraldehyde Glutaral Glutaraldehyde
Hydroxyethylcellulose Hyetellose Hydroxyethylcellulose
Lactobacillus kefir Lactobacillus kefiri Lactobacillus kefir
Oestradiol Estradiol Oestradiol
Oestriol Estriol Oestriol
Pramipexole hydrochloride monohydrate Pramipexole dihydrochloride monohydrate Pramipexole hydrochloride monohydrate
Rutin Rutoside Rutin
Sodium diatrizoate Sodium amidotrizoate Sodium diatrizoate
Thioguanine Tioguanine Thioguanine
Triethanolamine salicylate Trolamine salicylate Triethanolamine salicylate

This list is a summary of only some of the changes that have occurred over the last month.
Before prescribing, always refer to the full product information.

Copyright © MIMS Australia┬áPty Ltd. All rights reserved.

MIMS Australia
Level 2, 1 Chandos Street
St Leonards NSW 2065
Phone: 1800 800 629